deen

Paris Giachoustidis

Exposé EN

Exposé request
Form
Please send me an Exposé with available works and prices.

CV

*1990 Serres, Greece
2013–2013 School of visual and Applied Arts Thessaloniki, Greece, master class Prof. Ioannis Fokas
2015–2018 Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin, Diplom Prof. Werner Liebmann, master class Prof. Friederike Feldmann
   
  Lives and works in Berlin

Grants / Scholarships

2020 NEUSTART KULTUR_bildende Künstler*innen, Stipendium, Stiftung Kunstfonds Bonn
2018 Ionion arts center, Kefalonia (Griechenland)
2017 Can-Serrat, International art Residency, Barcelona
  Kunstpreis Haus am Kleistpark, Capriccio, Berlin

Solo exhibitions

2021 Urlaub in Deutschland, 68Projects, Berlin
2018 Comments in Red, Zina Athanassiadou Gallery, Thessaloniki

Group exhibitions

2021 Wie bereits eingangs erwähnt, BcmA, Berlin
  Error Explanation, 68Projects, Berlin
2020 Art Walk/Art Athina, Zina Athanassiadou Gallery, Thessaloniki / Athen
2019 L’artiste et les Commissaires, Lage Egal, Berlin
  Paris Giachoustidis, Irina Ojovan, Johannes Daniel, Trio Show, Galerie Russi Klenner
  All Out, Kwadrat, Berlin
  Looking For a D**k, Schau Fenster – Art Space, Berlin
2018 Last Dance, Autocenter, Kindl-Institute For Contemporary Art, Berlin
  Side Effects, Bayer Kulturhaus, Leverkusen
  Pnoh/Breath, Greek Emerging Artists, Helexpo, Thessaloniki
  Junction, Kosmetiksalon Babette, Berlin
  Not In The Mood To Save The World, Codex, Berlin
  Demi-Gros, Safe Gallery, Berlin
2017 Böse Blüten, Art Center Bethanien, Berlin
  La Table Ronde, Diskurs, Berlin
  Berlin Masters, Max Liebermann, Berlin
2016 Kaputt Ist Nicht Genug, Ladenfürnichts Gallery, Leipzig
  Summer Night Dreams, Kwadrat, Berlin
  Sorgen International, H&S Gallery, München

Texts

A painting or drawing rarely reveals at first sight what really makes it special. Moreover, the viewer will not easily get access to or “read” the artist’s intentions, his main idea, or the artistic questions which made him work on this issue. The meaning and the importance of the work in the eyes of the creator therefore frequently remain veiled to the viewer. When taking a closer look on the other hand, it is difficult to return to a “naive”, non-biased analysis of an artwork: We are visually attracted by those attributes of an artwork which stand out in our individual perspective and tend to overlook other aspects.

Paris Giachoustidis is an artist who typically does not provide easy ways to decode his work. We can discover juxtapositions and strata of brilliantly executed layers, motifs or facets (prevalently with painterly gestures) with technically rough components, which seem technically immature or simplistic. Figural and abstract elements are combined on the same canvas or paper, as are depth and surfaces, allegedly contradicting each other. The same superficial disaccord unites the approaches of classical painting, naive and folk art. The idea of using specific techniques is not about flaunting craftmanship in order to represent a composition in a photorealistic way, but a way to introduce a personal perspective on picture material which he found on the internet or in his daily life – it is a process of artistic appropriation of those found pictures. On the other hand, one gets the impression that the artist “destroys” those (pseudo-) realistic elements by adding those allegedly unsophisticated traits, forms, and figures. This conjunction of styles embraces the two aspects. A previous, time-consuming phase of the work is exposed to a high risk of failure and collapse by “ruining” it with a roughly painted layer, a suicidal moment on the canvas or paper. This practice of exploring the frontiers and getting personally involved is intended to develop an innate perspective on aesthetics, which questions the viewer’s habits and comfort – he wants to take us by the hand to reflect on painting and drawing in a fundamental way.

The distance of Paris Giachoustidis from the content of his work, sourcing motifs and themes from social media, can be attributed to the fact that he belongs to a generation which grew up with the internet. The world wide web was created well before his birth, as the first blog is older than he is. Google services were first developed during his early childhood, and Facebook and Twitter were founded during his youth. Instagram, Snapchat and more recent services only appeared when he was an adult. So it feels legitimate to call him an “internet native”. There is a broad and controversial discussion in science about the psychological implications of technology on personal development. It thus makes sense in the case of Paris Giachoustidis that a great many of his points of reference and sources in his oeuvre stem from technology-based interaction, pictures and snippets of text from the internet: His work is not based on the lecture of classic novels or in-person interaction or personal experiences and observations. When a work expresses strong emotions, we cannot assume that they are his sentiments, but rather those of other people. He does not even pretend to try to understand them. Instead, he just reflects them in his own perspective.

This separation of the artist’s person and his thematic world lends itself on the other hand to the coexistence of realistic and idealistic traits, both thematically and technically. It also paves the way for the playful element which is characteristic for his work. Therefore, his artistic personality shines through all the media he works with. Paris Giachoustidis will not provide the code to decipher his work – as already mentioned – he is more likely to confront us with questions rather than answers. His statements, to the extent that they are recognizable, do not have a universal aspiration, but instead remain intentionally anecdotal. Only when we dig deeper into his world are we able to get a glimpse of the reverberation of his philosophical studies: questions about the best of all worlds, society, women, men, the antagonism of nature and mankind will not be answered by him. Instead, he holds a distorting mirror in front of our eyes and serves us some paradoxes and antagonisms in a ludic way. The major issues do not form a comprehensive view of the world but are presented as commented aphorisms from our digital reality. We are provided with a bunch of keys, and our task is to find the doors where they fit.

Peter Ungeheuer

deen

Paris Giachoustidis

Exposé

Exposé anfordern
Form
Bitte senden Sie mir ein Exposé mit verfügbaren Arbeiten und Preisen zu.

Biographie

*1990 Serres, Greece
2013–2013 School of visual and Applied Arts Thessaloniki, Griechenland, Meisterschüler Prof. Ioannis Fokas
2015–2018 Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin, Diplom Prof. Werner Liebmann, Meisterschüler Prof. Friederike Feldmann
   
  Lebt und arbeitet in Berlin

Preise / Stipendien

2020 NEUSTART KULTUR_bildende Künstler*innen, Stipendium, Stiftung Kunstfonds Bonn
2018 Ionion arts center, Kefalonia (Griechenland)
2017 Can-Serrat, International art Residency, Barcelona
  Kunstpreis Haus am Kleistpark, Capriccio, Berlin

Einzelausstellungen

2021 Urlaub in Deutschland, 68Projects, Berlin
2018 Comments in Red, Zina Athanassiadou Gallery, Thessaloniki

Gruppenausstellung

2021 Error Explanation, 68Projects, Berlin
2020 Art Walk/Art Athina, Zina Athanassiadou Gallery, Thessaloniki / Athen
2019 L’artiste et les Commissaires, Lage Egal, Berlin
  Paris Giachoustidis, Irina Ojovan, Johannes Daniel, Trio Show, Galerie Russi Klenner
  All Out, Kwadrat, Berlin
  Looking For a D**k, Schau Fenster – Art Space, Berlin
2018 Last Dance, Autocenter, Kindl-Institute For Contemporary Art, Berlin
  Side Effects, Bayer Kulturhaus, Leverkusen
  Pnoh/Breath, Greek Emerging Artists, Helexpo, Thessaloniki
  Junction, Kosmetiksalon Babette, Berlin
  Not In The Mood To Save The World, Codex, Berlin
  Demi-Gros, Safe Gallery, Berlin
2017 Böse Blüten, Art Center Bethanien, Berlin
  La Table Ronde, Diskurs, Berlin
  Berlin Masters, Max Liebermann, Berlin
2016 Kaputt Ist Nicht Genug, Ladenfürnichts Gallery, Leipzig
  Summer Night Dreams, Kwadrat, Berlin
  Sorgen International, H&S Gallery, München

Texte

Wer ein Gemälde oder eine Zeichnung zum ersten Mal betrachtet, entdeckt nur ausnahmsweise das Besondere daran. Noch schwieriger ist es, die Intentionen des Künstlers, den Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit oder die Themen, mit denen er sich zum Zeitpunkt der Entstehung beschäftigt, zu „lesen“ und somit zu verstehen, worin die Bedeutung der Arbeit für den Künstler liegt. Bei intensiverer Auseinandersetzung ist es meist schwer, zu einer „naiven“, unvoreingenommenen Analyse zurückzukehren: Wir betrachten das, was in der individuellen Perspektive als hervorstechend oder herausragend wirkt oder uns besonders anspricht; andere Aspekte vernachlässigen wir meist.

Paris Giachoustidis macht es uns in der Regel nicht leicht, einen Schlüssel zu seinen Arbeiten zu finden. Wir entdecken ein Nebe noder Übereinander von technisch brillanten Schichten, Motiven oder Aspekten, durchaus meist mit einem hohen Anteil an „Malerischem“, gepaart mit technisch unreif oder einfach anmutenden Gesten. Figurative und abstrakte Elemente stehen neben- oder übereinander, Tiefe und Fläche stehen ebenso im vermeintlichen Widerspruch wie klassische Malerei und naive oder Volkskunst. Die Zurschaustellung von Mal- oder Zeichentechniken als Element vieler Arbeiten hat nicht zum Ziel, ein Motiv an sich photorealistisch darzustellen, sondern ist in der Regel eine eigene Perspektive auf im Internet oder im Alltag gefundene Photographien, also eine Form der malerischen oder zeichnerischen Aneignung. Sie werden andererseits durch vermeintlich einfache Striche, Formen und Figuren – stets in einer anderen Technik – „zerstört“, könnte man meinen. Neben einem hohen Risiko des Scheiterns – also einer Vernichtung mühevoller Vorarbeiten in einem künstlerisch gesehen quasi suizidalen Akt – als Ausdruck von Grenzen-Auslotung und persönlicher Implikation des Künstlers, geht es ihm darum, eine eigene Ästhetik zu entwickeln, unsere Sehgewohnheiten zu hinterfragen, uns an die Hand zu nehmen, über Malerei und Zeichnung an sich nachzudenken.

Die Distanz von P. G. zu den Inhalten seiner Arbeiten, die sich unter anderem auch in der Motivwahl aus sozialen Medien wiederspiegelt, ist dadurch geprägt, dass er einer Generation angehört, die mit dem Internet aufgewachsen ist. Das World wide web wurde ebenso vor seiner Geburt entwickelt wie auch der erste Blog älter ist als er. Google-Dienste entstanden während seiner Kindheit, die Gründung von Facebook und Twitter fallen in die Phase seiner Pubertät; lediglich Instagram, Snapchat und andere neuere Entwicklungen liefen erst an, als er bereits erwachsen war. Somit ist er also ein „Internet native“. In der Wissenschaft wird über die psychologische Implikation kontrovers diskutiert. Typisch für das Leben und Arbeiten von P. G. ist allerdings, dass er viele Bezugspunkte seiner Arbeit ebenso wie thematische Vorlagen aus technologiebasierter Interaktion, Bildern und (Kurz-)texten aus dem Internet herleitet. Und eben nicht aus klassischen Romanen und auch nicht schwerpunktmäßig aus der persönlichen Interaktion oder Erlebnissen. Auch wenn es um starke Emotionen geht, sind es eben nicht seine, sondern diejenige anderer, die er auch nicht zu verstehen versucht, sondern sie einfach, wenn auch aus seiner Perspektive, wiedergibt.

Diese Distanz des Künstlers zu den Inhalten seiner Arbeit ermöglicht andererseits genau dieses Nebeneinander von Realistischem und Idealistischen, und zwar sowohl im technischen als auch im thematischen Sinn. Und dadurch wird auch erst das spielerische Element, das charakteristisch für seine Arbeiten ist, ermöglicht. In allen von ihm genutzten Medien offenbart sich seine Künstlerpersönlichkeit. Er liefert uns keinen Schlüssel, wie oben beschrieben, er stellt uns mehr Fragen, als dass er uns Antworten gibt. Seine Statements, soweit wir sie erkennen vermögen, sind nicht universell, sondern punktuell. Er gewährt uns erst bei intensiver Beschäftigung mit seinem Werk Einblicke in die Ergebnisse seiner Beschäftigung mit Philosophie: Fragen nach der Besten aller Welten, der Art des Zusammenlebens in der Gesellschaft und zwischen Mann und Frau, dem Gegensatz zwischen Natur und Mensch beantwortet er nicht, er hält uns nur einen Zerrspiegel vor und serviert uns in spielerischer Form Paradoxien und Antagonismen. Die großen Themen behandelt er nicht als philosophischen Weltentwurf, sondern als kommentierte Splitter unserer digitalen Realität. Als einen Schlüsselbund, zudem wir die passenden Türen selbst finden müssen.

Peter Ungeheuer